Gear Review: GSI Outdoors Bugaboo Base Camper Cookset

I got the Bugaboo Base Camp cook set for my birthday and I just used it when we went to Drumheller. I don’t know why I didn’t bring it before but looking back I think it’s because most of the time when I go camping there is so much cooking gear that there was never a need. On the other hand I think I was a bit scared to ruin them more than anything. I busted them out when we hit Drumheller.

First thing we did was simply boil water, which they did great, they are pots in the end. I had this camp meal kicking around and Megan got one as well

The only difference was mine was the kind where you make it in the bag and hers was the kind you make in a pot of water, which I did. Heat was evenly controlled the whole time. The handle did get a bit hot which the instructions said would happen.

The next morning I made a stunning four course meal, with eggs, bacon, hash browns and maple beans. I only had a two burner stove so I started frying the bacon in the frying pan and cooking the hash browns in the small pot. Bacon cooked pretty evenly and quickly. I did cut them into half pieces and was able to do a quarter of the pound at a time. when it came to pouring the grease off I got a bit on the bottom and side of the pan and while this did not light on fire when I put it back on the heat it did make for a sticky section that was impossible to cook in the field.

The lids are made of a polycarbonate plastic that I thought would be very heat resistant. They have a strainer that works very well and flip down handily on top. In the instructions they specifically said not to let the flames of your stove pass the edge of the pot, which I watch diligently but this did not seem to matter when the pot lid for the 1.5 liter pot started to melt to the top. I caught it in time and was able to salvage both. The pot had no damage and thanks to the non-stick Teflon coating any plastic that was stuck to the pot came off very easily. The lid was not so lucky. The way it melted did not let it fit back on so I set it aside to cool before modifying it to fit again. I used my Leatherman to file the edges and while it does not fit perfectly and more it still works well enough to keep heat and steam inside and strains with no change. I will be e-mailing GSI Outdoors this week about this and hope to get a replacement.

Vital stats

Price: $55.00

Style: Destination Cook set, nesting design.

Includes: 2 L Pot, 1.5 L Pot, 8” Fry pan, 2 Strainer Lids, Cutting Board, Folding Pot Gripper, Stuff Sack

Material: Non-Stick Coated Aluminum

Weight: 34.2 ounces

Dimensions: 8.2″ x 8.2″ x 5.4″

Overall I am disappointed with the melted lid; however everything else preformed very well. The coating worked very well, things cooked evenly and in a timely matter and water boiled extremely quickly. It would be nice to have an additional handle but ill make do for now. When I got home, I gave it a good cleaning and got the sticky stuff off the fry pan with little effort. I would buy this set again; it’s affordable and cooked very well. Most of all I’m happy that I now have a quality cook set and do not have to take the old kitchen pots from home.

 

Picture_435Picture_436Picture_440Picture_441Picture_437Picture_439Picture_438Picture_442Picture_443Picture_444Picture_445Picture_446Picture_447Picture_448Picture_449

Leave a Reply

