Paddle update!

 
Got a bit excited tonight and was feeling like I could get some work done on the paddle. I headed over and rented a belt sander from home depot and just tried it out. Things went pretty good but I’m not moving enough material at this point. I’m going to try to track down a drawknife again and failing that I’ll just bit the bullet and buy one.
Here’s the only picture that would really show anything. But you can see what’s happening.

Media_httpsphotosakfb_jgven

To get that rounded shape I want I’ll have to get the drawknife and remove wood in strips. When I get to that stage I’ll either rent another sander with a fine grit sandpaper on it to make it smooth, or sand it by hand with progressively finer sand paper.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

